The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn

The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn is a crime novel by Colin Dexter, the third novel in Inspector Morse series.

The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn

Colin Dexter




The Oxford Foreign Examinations Syndicate runs school exams in the Persian Gulf and other places with a British connection. The Secretary Dr Bartlett and Mr Roope, a chemistry don and a member of the committee, disagree about the appointment of a new member of staff. Roope gets his way and Nicholas Quinn, a deaf man who lipreads, gets the job.

When Quinn is found murdered in his maisonetle, all the staff are under suspicion. There is Bartlett, his deputy Ogleby and the attractive Monica Height, who has liaisons with some of the others - especially young Donald Martin. Strangely, nearly all of them, including Quinn, appear to have tickets for The Nymphomaniac at Studio 2 in Walton Street on the afternoon of the murder. When later Ogleby is himself found murdered, a neat drawing of Quinn’s ticket is found in his diary.

Morse tries to deduce which of the others is the murderer but keeps getting it wrong. An intrigue involving wealthy Arabs and prior knowledge of exam papers is clearly the cause, and Quinn had found out about it and paid for it with his life.


Colin Dexter, The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn, MacMillan, 2005.


Lĩnh vực Ngoại ngữ

Related document

The Silent World of Nicholas QuinnEnglish for Life Reading A2 Pre-intermediateTOEIC Speaking
The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn

English for Life Reading A2 Pre-intermediate

TOEIC Speaking

QR code

The Silent World of Nicholas Quinn


  • Thứ Ba, 09:59 16/08/2022